WhatsApp now allows you to re-download deleted photos and videos

Share

WhatsApp has rolled out a new feature wherein users will be able to re-download the files that were deleted from the phone. Now, the messaging app has introduced a new feature that lets users download deleted media files.

As of now, this feature has been made available in WhatsApp for Android version (2.18.113) and is expected to come to iOS soon, reported WABetaInfo.

Amid all the crisis of data protection across the globe, WhatsApp has launched another feature that increases the brand's liability to store personal user data more securely. Basically, the WhatsApp servers will store the media files even after downloading them.

This way, if a person deletes a photo from their device, they just have to go back to the original conversation and get hold of the snapshot again. Only if the file has been deleted in sdcard/WhatsApp/ and you have the message in the chat, you can successfully download it again.

Djukanovic Set to Win Montenegro Presidency
The pro-European leader defied Russian Federation past year by taking the Balkan State into North Atlantic Treaty Organisation . President Filip Vujanovic is maybe not running due to word limits.

WhatsApp beta version 2.18.109 listed the last time users were online with the timestamps - "89ESTERDAY" and "84ODAY". However, the app does not seem to let us download media files that are too old, instead, asking us to send a request to the sender to send the media again. You can also download its APK file directly from APK Mirror.

In the meantime, you can also download the APK version via the APK Mirror. It is important to note that the message in the chat needs to be present in order to retrieve the media. Earlier, WhatsApp allowed users to download files for 30 days, but the data would disappear once the file was downloaded by the recipient.

WhatsApp assures that with end-to-end encryption in place the data transferred between two users, who are on the latest versions of WhatsApp, are secured by unique secure code that only the two users can access. The report claims that all the media files are fully encrypted so there's nothing to worry even if the chat app doesn't delete them from its servers.

Share