UP,Bihar bypoll results:BJP down in all 3 Parliament seats;SP,RJD ahead


"... It is clear from the results that voters have a lot of anger towards the BJP and will vote for any non-BJP candidate who has more chances of winning", tweeted Congress President Rahul Gandhi. Two of the seats - Gorakhpur and Phulpur - are in Uttar Pradesh, and were earlier held by Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath and Deputy Chief Minister Keshav Prasad Maurya.

He said the Lok Sabha seats lost by the BJP in 2017 are Amritsar, Srinagar, Malappuram and Gurdaspur as well as Ajmer, Alwar, Uluberia, Gorakhpur, Phulpur and Araria in 2018. Also, the reports are coming that SP candidate Nagendra Pratap Singh Patel has managed to secure 2,81,446 votes in Phulpur. Besides, it would inevitably improve bargaining chips for the SP in allocation of seats when SP-BSP-Congress grand alliance is being sewed up ahead of the general elections.

In Gorakhpur, Samajwadi Party candidate Praveen Kumar Nishad is leading by 1,523.

"Election performances of both SP and BSP seemed to convey they had lost their political ground in recent past and were fighting for survival".

Maintaining that the party would review the results, the UP Chief Minister congratulated the new Members of Parliament from Gorakhpur and Phulpur. "We will definitely find out the reasons behind the defeat of the BJP candidates".

Margot Robbie to play Sharon Tate in Tarantino's Manson film
The film will tell the story of the murder of Tate and several others in a killing spree instigated by Charles Manson . The film is due to start production later this year, with a release date of August 9 2019 earmarked.

In Uttar Pradesh, the Bahujan Samaj Party supported the SP in Gorakhpur and Phulpur. Instead, she suggested it was a deal between the two parties, with the Samajwadi Party supporting her candidates in the Rajya Sabha while she would lend her support to its leaders for the bye-polls. The by-poll losses would dent his image, particularly Gorakhpur, his well nurtured and nourished constituency which he has won for past five consecutive terms.

The results are expected to be declared by afternoon, an EC official said.

By-poll became necessary after Yogi resigned from it to become the CM. Gorakhpur has been held by Yogi Adityanath since 1998 - he was the youngest MP at 26 - and three times before that by his mentor Advaidyanath.

When the BSP chose to back the SP candidates and put its cadres at work for winning the elections, the Congress did not pull out its candidates or followed suit to rally behind the SP candidates. The BJP had won the seat in 2004 and 2009 when Janata Dal (United) chief Nitish Kumar headed the National Democratic Alliance (NDA) in Bihar. The lesson is that the arithmetic of alliance can still trump the electoral chemistry of the BJP.