Two RJD candidates file nomination papers for RS polls


In comments that came for criticism from within the BJP, Agarwal said at the press conference at the BJP headquarters in the afternoon that the SP rejected his re-nomination to "accommodate someone who dances in Bollywood". Mansukh Mandavia, minister of state for road transport and highways, and shipping, chemicals and fertilizers; and Parshottam Rupala, minister of state for panchayati raj, agriculture and farmers welfare filed their nominations for the Rajya Sabha on Monday.

For Upper House elections on March 23, Congress's list 0f ten includes Abhishek Manu Singhvi, Kumar Ketkar and three from Karnataka, where assembly polls are due soon. The maximum number of candidates (7) have been nominated from Uttar Pradesh, where the party has a firm majority and vacancy of 10 seats.

Sources said the Congress had decided not to nominate any of its leaders, who had lost the 2017 assembly election.

Jaya Bachchan of the Samajwadi Party and Bahujan Samaj Party's Bhim Rao Ambedkar had filed their papers last week.

Talking to reporters later, Prasad, Union law minister, thanked Prime Minister Narendra Modi and BJP national president Amit Shah for reposing their trust in him and lauded Nitish Kumar for ensuring that the NDA functioned as a team. Monday is the last day for nominations.

The candidacy announced by the Congress is believed to be more a move not to let the TRS go unchallenged.

Former Union minister in the previous Congress-led UPA government Naran Rathwa and senior leader of the Gujarat Pradesh Congress Committee (GPCC) Amee Yagnik have filed nominations as Congress party candidates.

Cousins agrees to deal with Vikings
But if it eventually happens, the day Cousins signed with the Vikings could be remembered as the moment that changed it all. Quarterback Drew Brees avoided free agency by signing a two-year contract to stay with the New Orleans Saints.

So, it is next to impossible for the party to win the Rajya Sabha elections.

"As part of the political strategy to counter the Congress' disruptive practices, we have fielded our third candidate, Kiritsinh Rana".

Former Mahila Morcha leader Saroj Pande is the BJP nominee from Chhattisgarh.

According to an announcement by the BJP general secretary J P Nadda here on Sunday, Mr Rane, a former Sena leader and who was also with Congress since 2005, will be BJP candidate from Maharashtra. BJP spokesperson GVL Narasimha Rao and industrialist Rajeev Chandrashekhar got nominations from Uttar Pradesh and Karnataka. Chandrasekhar will win only if he manages to get a section of JD (S) votes.

"MIM party has chose to support TRS party candidates in Rajya Sabha elections", he said on a social networking site.

Ketkar has been nominated from Maharashtra and Porika Balram Naik from Telangana.