Lok Sabha bypolls in Uttar Pradesh: Counting of votes begins


The bypolls were necessitated after Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath and Deputy Chief Minister Keshav Prasad Maurya vacated the Gorakhpur and Phulpur Lok Sabha seats respectively, following their election to the state legislative council.

While in the Gorakhpur bypoll, Bharatiya Janata Party's (BJP) Upendra Dutt Shukla is leading; in Phulpur, Allahabad, Kaushlendra Singh Patel also of BJP is leading with a slender margin, an official said. Gorakhpur is an important seat for the BJP with Adityanath representing the seat in the Lok Sabha five times. The SP had fielded Pravin Nishad from Gorakhpur and Nagendra Pratap Singh Patel from Phulpur.

In Araria LS byelection in Bihar, the BJP is leading with the RJD in second spot.

Gorakhpur/Patna: Counting of votes for bypolls to three Lok Sabha seats - Phulpur and Gorakpur in Uttar Pradesh and Araria in Bihar - is underway.

Tight security arrangements are in place ahead of the counting of votes in these constituencies.

Samajwadi Party's Praveen Kumar Nishad has received 44,979 votes.

Lok Sabha impasse continues, no 'sign' of govt outreach to opposition
Speaker Sumitra Mahajan adjourned the proceedings till noon and then for the day, as TDP, Congress, AIADMK, TRS and Trinamool Congress members stormed the Well of the House.

In Bhabua, BJP's Rinki Pandey is leading over Congress' Sambhu Patel, while Janta Dal-United's Abhiram Sharma is leading from Jahanabad assembly seat over Rashtriya Janata Dal's Suday Yadav.

Counting is also going on for two Assembly seats - Bhabua and Jehanabad from Bihar. BJP's Upendra Dutt Shukla is second with 82,811 votes in a constituency known as the bastion of state's Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath.

Attacking the BSP and the SP, the chief minister claimed, "These parties are indulging in negative politics, politics of bargaining and politics of opportunism". He confirmed that after the fifth round of voting, the SP candidate has 74,077 votes in his kitty while the BJP has 70,317 votes.

Results for both the seats were likely to be announced by 12 noon.

In Bihar's Araria, Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) and the Congress are pitted against the BJP-Janata Dal (United) alliance and it's the first big test for Nitish Kumar after he walked out of the Grand Alliance past year to team up with the BJP.

Phulpur Bypoll: Samajwadi Party's Nagendra Pratap Singh Patel leading by 1437 votes with 7600 votes, BJP's Kaushlendra Singh Patel 6163 votes after round 3.