WhatsApp has again changed its 'message deletion' feature


WhatsApp users across the globe breathed a collective sigh of relief last October when the app introduced a way of unsending messages that had already been dispatched - calling back missives from the ether, as long as you retrieved it within seven minutes or so.

Users originally only had 8 minutes and 32 seconds (512 seconds) to reconsider their actions, but in the last week the company has made a decision to increase the limit to 4096 seconds, that is around 1 hour 8 minutes.

It's not clear why the limit is now so specific, apart from being 2^12, and the WhatsApp support pages don't provide any additional info on the time limit. WhatsApp then finds a message in the database having the same ID of the received revoke request and checks the date related information of the message saved in the database.

WhatsApp's recently introduced "Delete for Everyone" feature has now submitted a new update to the Apple App Store.

Central Intelligence Agency boss: Kim Jong-un meeting not 'theatre
What's new: Local experts react with surprise and skepticism mixed with hope, warning what might happen if the talks fail. It would likely be compared to former President Barack Obama's decision to kill or captured Osama Bin Laden, he said.

WhatsApp is silently a adding a new "Block Revoke request" feature to stop misuse of the Delete for Everyone option.

Now it has been noticed, in the latest WhatsApp for iOS update (2.18.31) that the measly seven minutes time for second thoughts has been extended significantly. But once, the set time has passed, there is no way to delete messages for everyone.

WhatsApp has chose to stick to 24 hours as the reference time period here to ensure that there is ample time for the recipient or recipients in case of a group chat, to receive the revoke request.

The platform has made a decision to choose 24 hours as time reference because a user can delete a message for everyone and the recipient's phone might be turned off at that moment.