Instagram is Testing Screenshot Alert Feature for Stories

Share

Of course, as the years have gone by, both Snapchat and Instagram have appropriated the other's features, with Instagram adopting Snapchat's "stories" features a while back now Now, as Techchrunch reports, it seems that Instagram is jumping on the "screenshot notification" bandwagon too.

Instagram will now alert you when somebody has snapped a screenshot of a post in your Story.

If your smartphone is set to Aeroplane Mode when you take the screenshot, you'll be able to bypass the warning.

It seems that users will get a free pass on the first time, where they will be prompted by a popup that lets them know that the "next time" they take a screenshot or even a screen recording of a Story, that person will know that they've done it. This will help identify the one who published a story to correctly identify the person who took a screenshot.

CRPF trooper killed in ongoing encounter at Srinagar
The sentry, posted at the CRPF's 23 battalion headquarters, saw two suspected militants approaching the camp and opened fire. Earlier in the day, the forces had foiled the militants' attempt to strike the paramilitary camp, PTI reported.

As per a statement given to the TechCrunch Instagram affirmed the test and said that we are always finding methods and ways for improving the experience on Instagram to make it simpler for everyone to share their moments with people who matter the most. The fact that the creator can track who is taking a screenshot of their stories, other users might be discouraged to watch stories. Tests like this are usually done to see how users react to a feature such as this, so if the overwhelming response to this rollout is negative, the chances are good that Instagram will probably backpedal on this decision.

Instagram is also pre-emptively warning users that their screenshotting habits are no longer private. The feature if rolled out, it would intrinsically align Instagram with Snapchat in order to see how the platform tackles with screenshots.

It is to be noted that the one who takes a screenshot will be warned through an alert, but the one who is the original publisher will not be shown any alert, and the only way to see who has taken a screenshot is by tapping on the viewers' list and looking for the shutter logo.

Share