Twins' Paul Molitor, Diamondbacks' Torey Lovullo win Manager of Year awards


There was no sure-thing like when Aaron Judge and Cody Bellinger won the Rookie of the Year awards.

Arizona Diamondbacks manager Torey Lovullo won National League Manager of the Year honors Tuesday.

It was considered a close competition going in, but Lovullo claimed 18 out of 30 first-place votes. Arizona's skipper earned 18 first-place votes, while Roberts got five, with Bud Black of the Colorado Rockies and Craig Counsell of the Milwaukee Brewers each garnering three.

Under Molitor and Lovullo, the Twins made their first postseason since 2010, and the D-backs made their first playoffs since '11.

Tesla 'Hotbed For Racist Behaviors' Lawsuit Claims, Following Previous Accusations
The lawsuit alleges no one from the company followed up with Vaughn about his complaint, nor did they investigate his claims. At the same facility, United Auto Workers (UAW) launched a campaign encouraging workers to join the union.

The 52-year-old Lovullo guided the Diamondbacks to a 93-69 record and their first playoff spot since 2011, a year after they went 69-93. Arizona finished second in the wildly competitive NL West division at 93-69, behind only eventual pennant-winner Los Angeles. Craig Counsell of the Milwaukee Brewers finished fourth and Dusty Baker, who was sacked by the Washington Nationals, finished fifth. Cleveland Indians manager Terry Francona finished second. Houston Astros manager A.J. Hinch received the only other first-place vote and finished third. New York Yankees manager Joe Girardi finished in fourth place in his final season with the ballclub. Nobody expected a postseason berth for the Twins - perhaps not even their front office, because they were sellers at the trade deadline.

Francona, who won the award a year ago, led the Indians to an AL-best 102-62 record and an American League record 22 wins in a row.

This post will be updated.