Murali Vijay Named in India's Test Squad for Sri Lanka Series


Opener Murali Vijay was on Monday recalled into the Indian squad in place of Abhinav Mukund for the first two Tests of the three-match series against Sri Lanka, beginning November 16 in Kolkata. Meanwhile, the national selection committee also announced the 13-member Board XI Presidential team who will play two-day practice match against Sri Lanka team.

"With regard to Virat Kohli there has been some speculation that he's going to be rested for the whole of Sri Lanka series", India's chairman of selectors, MSK Prasad, said. The Delhi pacer last featured in the third Test against Australia in Ranchi in March 2017 and wasn't part of the touring party for the Sri Lanka Tests.

While Ajinkya Rahane continues to be the vice-captain in Tests, Wriddhiman Saha is expected to don the gloves. Interestingly, both Dhawan and Vijay have been named for first two Sri Lanka Tests apart from KL Rahul. His Tamil Nadu team-mate R Ashwin too didn't play much global cricket after he was overlooked for the India ODIs.

In the fast bowling department, Ishant Sharma features alongside Umesh Yadav and Mohammed Shami.

Like Ashwin, Test specialist Cheteshwar Pujara too had a brief stint with Nottinghamshire but could garner just 333 runs in 12 innings.

Moses Praises Chelsea Teammates After 'Massive' Win Vs Watford
Watford wasted a number of chances to extend its advantage before substitute Michy Batshuayi headed in the equalizer. The Spaniard told Sky Sports afterwards: "We had to dig in until the last minute and we showed our spirit".

Ravindra Jadeja and R Ashwin, who have missed the string of limited-overs assignments over the past few months, return to the Test squad which also has Kuldeep Yadav as the third spinner.

Jadeja in his only game for Saurashtra, made a statement with a double hundred and seven wickets in the game.

Subsequently, the two-test series against the travelling Sri Lankan unit begins on 16th November at Kolkata, while the second test is being scheduled for 24th November in Nagpur. After the Test series, Sri Lanka will also play three ODIs and three T20Is.

India Test squad: Virat Kohli (captain), KL Rahul, Murali Vijay, Shikhar Dhawan, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane (vice-captain), Rohit Sharma, Wriddhiman Saha, Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Kuldeep Yadav, Hardik Pandya, Mohammad Shami, Umesh Yadav, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Ishant Sharma.