IPU 137th Assembly: Senate delegation leaves for Russian Federation


The Iranian top lawmaker, who is accompanied by Parliament's General Director for International Affairs Hossein Amir-Abdollahian, is heading a senior legislative delegation to Russian city of Saint Petersburg to attend the 137th meeting of Inter-Parliamentary Union (IPU).

Chief Press Secretary to Saraki, Mr Sanni Onogu, said in a statement on Thursday in Abuja that the assembly would hold between October 14 and October 18.

The Assembly to be held under the theme, Promoting Cultural Pluralism and Peace through Inter-Faith and Inter-Ethnic Dialogue' will commence tomorrow.

The speaker of the Duma lower house of Russia's parliament, Vyacheslav Volodin, said that he will visit Tehran next year.

He said that he would hold session with President, House of Councillors of Morocco, Hakim Benchamach, and an interactive session with Nigerians in Diaspora at the sidelines.

NBA, NextVR to Produce 27 Live Games in VR This Season
To watch games in VR you have to be a NBA League Pass subscriber, either through your cable provider or directly from the NBA . The NBA League Pass Premium subscription costs $249 per year (or $39.99 per month).

The delegation will also participate in the coordination committee of IPU prior to formal session of the union.

Promoting parliamentary cooperation in the global scene, fighting terrorism, countering security challenges faced by the countries and discussing economic and financial issues, human rights and democracy are on the agenda of the IPU meeting. They will also participate in the discussions of the Standing Committees on Peace and International Security on the role of parliaments in striking a balance between national security and the human security, individuals' freedom and removing risks to democracy, he said.

The 137th Assembly of the Inter-Parliamentary Union will take place in Russia's St. Petersburg on October 14-18. Sulaimon Lasun Yussuff, Senators Bayero Usman Nafada, Kabiru Gaya, Rafiu Ibrahim and Stella Oduah.

Others include Reps Samuel Ikon, Nnanna Igbokwe, Abubakar Fulata and Funke Adedoyin while advisers on the team are Sen. Duro Faseyi and Rep. Abdulsamad Dasuki.